curve slider image

Customers are required to follow COVID restrictions.   Our building hours are 8:00 am - 4:30 pm. 
Homestead is a property tax reduction program, intended to keep taxes lower on owner-occupied properties, according to Minnesota Statutes 273.124.  In order to receive homestead classification, you must be listed as owner on county records and present proof of ownership, complete a Homestead Application and provide the social security numbers of all owners, including spouses.

You should apply for homestead as soon as possible after you purchase and move into your home.  If you purchase, occupy, and provide us with an Application by December 31st, the following year’s property tax will reflect the homestead rates.

You can file for homestead in person at the Dodge County Assessor’s Office, call or e-mail this office or download the Homestead Application from this web site.

Any correspondence you receive from the Assessor's Office is very important. Please read and return any forms and questionnaires you receive, in a timely manner.  Contact the Dodge County Assessor’s Office with any questions or for further homestead information.

Residential Homestead Qualifications
Those who own and occupy their primary place of residence, including manufactured homes, qualify for homestead including owner-occupants and certain relatives of the owner.

Agricultural Homestead Qualifications
Those who own and occupy a farm as their primary home qualify for an agricultural homestead.

Agricultural-classed parcels within four townships of the home, (even across county lines) and held in title by the same ownership are linked for extended homestead benefits.

Certain relatives of the owners, who are claiming no other homesteads, may be eligible for an Agricultural Relative Homestead.

Special Ag Homestead
Homestead classification is allowed upon farms of at least 40 acres where the owner does not live on the farm, but within four townships from the farm. The owner must actively farm the land, be a Minnesota resident, and may not be claiming another agricultural homestead in Minnesota. Persons engaged in "actively farming" must participate in: making day to day farming decisions, labor, administration/management, financial risk, and profit and loss. An applicant is not required to own the residence where they live.

A  provision allows a homestead classification for an owner that does not live on the farm, but is living within four townships from the farm, and is renting the land to their parents, child, or grandchild who is actively farming the land.

Corporate/Partnership Farm Homestead
The Agricultural Homestead Law allows a full homestead classification for each shareholder or partner who resides on the Corporate/Partnership property if it is certified as a "Family Farm", as defined by Minnesota Statute 500.24, by the Minnesota Department of Agriculture.

Other Homestead Classifications
There are exemptions for the blind or disabled, disabled veterans, surviving spouse, or caregiver, and senior citizens. If all owners do not occupy the property, a partial homestead classification may be given.  General information for these exemptions can be found at:

Homestead for Property Owned by a Trust
Certain trusts can qualify for homestead. A Certificate of Trust must be completed and approved by the County Assessor, or the Trust must be provided for the Assessor’s review.

Homestead for ‘Life Estates’
Life-estates qualify for homestead as long as the life estate interest is shown on the deed, and the holder of the life estate meets all the homestead requirements.