Preliminary Floodplain Workmaps
curve slider image

The area of Dodge County has been presented with the Preliminary copies of the new Flood Insurance Rate Map (FIRM) and Flood Insurance Study (FIS), for the community to review and comment.


A Public Open House meeting will be held on Tuesday April 11th, 2023 from 5:00 P.M.-7:00 P.M., located at 721 Main Street North, Mantorville, MN, 55955 in Conference Room B. Please note that the Public Open House meeting will be in-person only.  

The preliminary version of FIRM is available for the community to utilize on FEMA’s Flood Map Changes Viewer. The Flood Map Changes Viewer (FMCV) includes Preliminary Changes Since Last FIRM (CSLF), Pending National Flood Hazard Layer, Preliminary National Flood Hazard Layer,  Effective FIRM Panels , and the National Flood Hazard Layer (NFHL).

FEMA Map ExampleAs directed by FEMA, go to the “Layers List” icon (sheets of paper icon) at upper right corner.  When you click on this icon you will find 6 layers to be “on” by default.  This makes for a busy initial look (and it takes too much time to load, especially if you have slow internet speeds.  So for best view click off all layers except for layer called “Preliminary Flood Hazard Layer (NFHL)”.  This Preliminary NFHL is 3rd layer in the Layers List menu. Depending on the area of study, the  “Preliminary Flood Hazard Layer” may provide elevation information.

FEMA has posted digital copies to view of the revised FIRM and FIS report material at the following website: